Green Mountain Award

The Vermont Library Association’s Green Mountain Award is given as the opportunity arises to individuals or organizations for distinguished service, support, or unusual contributions to a Vermont library or libraries.

Past recipients:

2024 – The Working Group on the Status of Libraries in Vermont, members listed here.
 – Eileen Forrester, in appreciation for her years of volunteer service and support to the South Burlington Public Library.
2022Kim Peine, Dorothy Alling Memorial Library, Williston; Richard Pritsky, Carpenter-Carse Library, Hinesburg; and Wendy Hysko, Brownell Library, Essex Junction, in appreciation for their work in the implementation of and care of The Vermont Organization of Koha Automated Libraries (VOKAL).
2020none awarded, due to the COVID-19 shutdown.
2019none awarded
2018Mara Siegel – Vermont Department of Libraries, retired
2016Helen Linda, for dedication to and vision for the Vermont Library Association.
2015Susan O’Connell, Craftsbury Public Library, and Mara Siegel, Vermont Department of Libraries, for being Make-It-Happen Heroes, making a real difference in the way libraries serve their communities, and in the way communities view their libraries.
2014Vermont Department of Libraries, for distinguished service, support, and contributions to Vermont libraries.
2013Jane Napier, Kellogg-Hubbard Library, Montpelier, for saving and fearlessly leading the Vermont Library Conference in a new direction and for being a force in state-wide youth librarianship.
2012 – Vermont Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired (VAB) Steve Pouliot, Executive Director for encouraging blind and visually impaired Vermonters to continue to read using assistive technology and alternate formats.
2011None awarded
2010Dr. Burnett Rawson for establishing the Winnie Belle Learned Fund of the Vermont Public Library Foundation, and for his extraordinary dedication to and support of services to children in the public libraries of Vermont.
2009Amy Grasmick, Kimball Public Library, Randolph, in appreciation for the courageous and principled defense of patron confidentiality.
2008Stephanie Chase, Stowe Free Library, for outstanding leadership in organizing the Green Mountain Library Consortium and in bringing a downloadable audio program to the state.
2007None awarded
2006Patricia Belding, in appreciation of her documentation of the history and architecture of the public libraries of Vermont in her book, Where the Books Are.
2005None awarded
2004 – The Freeman Foundation, Stowe, for their generous support of Vermont public libraries.
2003Lois Noonan, Bixby Memorial Library, Vergennes, for nearly 50 years distinguished service to her library.
2000-2002None awarded
1999Linda Norton, Librarian, and Randy Rice, Trustee, Lincoln Public Library, for their diligence, grace, and good humor following the flood of June 27, 1998.

The Vermont Library Association gives five awards for outstanding service to and support of the state’s libraries:

  1. Birdie Award
  2. Green Mountain Award
  3. Sarah C. Hagar Award
  4. Senator Patrick Leahy Library Advocate of the Year Award
  5. Trustee of the Year Award

Page last updated June 12, 2024.