Sarah C. Hagar Award

The Sarah C. Hagar Award, named for the first president of the Vermont Library Association and a librarian at the Fletcher Free Library for 23 years until her death in 1908, is awarded each year for outstanding service in or significant contribution to the field of librarianship in Vermont. Nominees for the Sarah C. Hagar award must be working in a Vermont library and be a member of VLA. Examples of “outstanding service” include but are not limited to:

  • providing outstanding service in one’s field of expertise such as children’s services, reference, technical services, or administration.
  • providing professional library leadership in areas such as legislation, intellectual freedom, literacy, or writing.
  • encouraging community support for and involvement with the library at the local or state level.

Past Recipients:

2023Nathaniel Eddy, Winooski Memorial Library, Winooski
2019 – Mary Ellen Boisvert, Aldrich Library, Barre
2018 – Jane Ramos, Sherburne Memorial Library
2017 – Rebecca Cook, Poultney Public Library, Poultney
2016None awarded
2015Amy Howlett, Vermont Department of Libraries
2014Karen Lane, Aldrich Public Library, Barre
2013Lisa Von Kann, St. Johnsbury Athenaeum, St. Johnsbury
2012Susan Overfield, Essex Free Library, Essex
2011None awarded
2010Richard Pritsky, Carpenter-Carse Library, Hinesburg
2009Michael Roche, Vermont Department of Libraries, Montpelier
2008Jerry Carbone, Brooks Memorial Library, Brattleboro
2007Marianne Kotch, Vermont Department of Libraries, Montpelier
2006Penny Pillsbury, Brownell Library, Essex Junction
2005Cindy Karasinski, Goodrich Memorial Library, Newport
2004Trina Magi, Bailey/Howe Library, University of Vermont, Burlington
2003Linda Wells, Craftsbury Public Library, Craftsbury
2002Gail Weymouth, Sherburne Memorial Library, Killington
2001Janet Nielsen, Kellogg-Hubbard Library, Montpelier
2000Grace W. Greene, Vermont Department of Libraries, Montpelier
1999Pat Hazlehurst, Cobleigh Public Library, Lyndon
1998None awarded
1997Patricia Klinck, State Librarian, Vermont Department of Libraries, Montpelier
1996Paula Baker, Rutland Free Library, Rutlans
1995Elizabeth Howlett, Joslin Memorial Library, Waitsfield
1994John Swan, Crossett Library, Bennington College, Bennington
1993Meris Morrison, Brooks Memorial Library, Brattleboro
1992Joan Robinson, Ilsley Public Library, Middlebury
1991Milton Crouch, Bailey/Howe Library, University of Vermont, Burlington
1990Suzanne Gallagher, Lyndon State College Library, Lyndonville

The Vermont Library Association gives five awards for outstanding service to and support of the state’s libraries:

  1. Birdie Award
  2. Green Mountain Award
  3. Sarah C. Hagar Award
  4. Senator Patrick Leahy Library Advocate of the Year Award
  5. Trustee of the Year Award

Last update April 7, 2023 (sl)