STS Innovation in Science and Technology Librarianship Award

The purpose of the award is to recognize creative, innovative approaches to solving problems or improving products and services in science and technology librarianship. The award recognizes and promotes leadership and initiative that demonstrate impact on the academic and research community.

Any library-related project is eligible for the award. Projects from the award sponsors are ineligible for consideration. Projects of the STS Chair / Vice-Chair while those persons are in office are ineligible from consideration.


A $3,000 donation by IEEE. The award is administered by the ACRL Science & Technology Section and is presented at the ALA Annual Conference each year.


Projects nominated for the award should inspire information professionals to overcome obstacles in the profession, and should demonstrate creativity, quality and innovation within the context of national trends in science and technology librarianship.

Projects should meet at least three of the following criteria:

  • projects may demonstrate strong librarian involvement
  • projects may be unique and cutting-edge
  • projects may demonstrate impact on a library’s customer groups and / or the profession
  • projects may serve as a model to influence other activities
  • projects may demonstrate effectiveness in overcoming barriers, or skill and persistence in causing change.

Preference may be given to recent projects; however, historical projects that have demonstrated impact are also eligible for consideration.

Preference may be given to library projects in partnership with academic college or research libraries; however, any projects that demonstrate impact on the science and technology academic community are also eligible for consideration. Nominees must agree to allow ACRL to publicize their project, if selected as the winning project..


Nominations must include a description of the innovative project, and
sufficient supporting documentation for the committee to understand the purpose, content, impact, and innovative aspects of the program.

Note: Electronic submissions are required.

Submission Deadline: Friday, December 3, 2010

Information and Assistance

Send nominations or questions to the award co-chairs, Marianne Stower Bracke, Purdue University, E-mail:, and Luti Salisbury, University of Arkansas, E-mail: