Trustee of the Year Award

The Trustee of the Year Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a trustee on behalf of their library, either during the previous year or during their years of service. Nominations may be submitted by any library trustee, library board, librarian, friends group member, or VLA member. Examples include but are not limited to:

  • seeking legislative action for programs that would benefit libraries throughout the state or region.
  • leadership to increase the quality of library service.
  • creating model programs to overcome a major local library problem.
  • promoting public awareness and building support for the library.
  • developing adequate physical facilities for a library.

The Trustee of the Year Award was first presented by the Vermont Library Trustees Association (VLTA) in 1967. It was awarded sporadically until 1986, when the award became an annual event. In 1992 VLTA merged with the Vermont Library Association, and VLA has presented the award since that time.

Past Recipients:

2023Beth Wade, Cabot Public Library, Cabot
2022 – Jean Roberts, Poultney Public Library, Poultney
2019 – David Martin, Cobleigh Public Library, Lyndonville
2018None awarded
2017 – Harriett Grenier & Margaret Luce, Waterbury Public Library, Waterbury
None awarded
2015Robert Henneberger, Burnham Memorial Library, Colchester
2014Thomas Twetten, Craftsbury Public Library, Craftsbury
2013Ruth Botzow, Solomon Wright Public Library, Pownal
2012Pat Hunter, Rutland Free Library, Rutland
2011Board, Morristown Centennial Library (Sue Sargent, chair), Morristown
2011Susie Martin, Roger Clark Memorial Library, Pittsfield
2010Reeve Lindbergh, St. Johnsbury Athenaeum, St. Johnsbury
2009Tina Rotella, Rutland Free Library, Rutland
2008Dave Keenan, Cobleigh Public Library, Lyndonville
2007Terry Burgee, Kimball Public Library, Randolph
2006Kim Cushman, John G. McCullough Free Library, North Bennington
2005Angie Chapple-Sokol, Brownell Library, Essex Junction
2004Betsy Eckfeldt, Roxbury Free Library,
2004Donna H. Swartz, Shrewsbury Library
2003None awarded
2002John Nicholls, Aldrich Public Library, Barre
2002Robert Harnish, Maclure Library, Pittsford
2001Marcia Devino, Burnham Memorial Library, Colchester
2000Beth Merritt, The Charlotte Library, Charlotte
1999Phyllis Arata-Meyers, Norman Williams Public Library, Woodstock
1998Ann Hazelrigg, Dorothy Alling Memorial Library, Williston
1997None awarded
1996Robert Ashcroft, Rockingham Free Public Library, Rockingham
1995Margaret Miner, South Burlington Community Library, South Burlington
1994None awarded
1993Joan Wise, Sherburne Memorial Library, Killington
1992Barbara Mieder, Dorothy Alling Memorial Library, Williston
1991Jean Conklin, Norman Williams Public Library, Woodstock
1990Ralph Secord, Cobleigh Library, Lyndonville
1989Deborah Thomas, Alden Balch Memorial Library, Lunenburg
1988Fred Moeller, Bennington Free Library (a long time friend of that library), Bennington
1987Polly Quinn, Sarah Carpenter Memorial Library, Hinesburg
1986Susan Tillotson, Annette Clowes and Carleen Musick, Brigham Free Library, Bakersfield
1983-1985None awarded
1982Jay W. Hawthorne, Aldrich Public Library, Barre
1980-1981None awarded
1979John McDill, Norman Williams Library, Woodstock
1976-1978None awarded
1975Mary Fell, Underhill; and others
1971-1974None awarded
1970Carlotta Raine, Brownell Library, Essex Junction
1968-1969 None awarded
1967James H. Laubach, Jr., Brooks Memorial Library, Brattleboro

The Vermont Library Association presents five awards for outstanding service to and support of the state’s libraries:

  1. Birdie Award
  2. Green Mountain Award
  3. Sarah C. Hagar Award
  4. Senator Patrick Leahy Library Advocate of the Year Award
  5. Trustee of the Year Award

Page last updated April 7, 2023 (sl)