Nominations are due by March 1, 2023.

2023 VLA Award Nominations Open

There are so many excellent librarians and trustees in Vermont that it is hard to single out just one of each annually, but there are always ones who are extraordinary and deserved to be recognized statewide. Now is the time to nominate those deserving colleagues.  Winners will be recognized and awarded at the VLA Conference on Monday, April 3, 2023.

To place a person in nomination for any award, please send the nominee’s name, the name of their library, a letter or letters explaining why this person should receive the award, along with your name, library, telephone number, and e-mail address, Send this information to VLA Awards Committee co-chair mdanko[at]

Nominations that include a few letters that present a well-rounded picture of the candidate are preferred to a single letter, or many letters that all say similar things. If a nomination is made by more than one person, please designate one signatory as the contact person.  Nominations are due by Wednesday, March 1, 2023.

Nominations are open for:

The Sarah C. Hagar Award, named for the first president of VLA and a librarian at the Fletcher Free Library for 23 years until her death in 1908, is awarded each year for outstanding service in or significant contribution to the field of librarianship in Vermont. Nominees for the Sarah C. Hagar award must be working in a Vermont library and be a member of VLA. Examples of “outstanding service” include but are not limited to:

-providing outstanding service in one’s field of expertise such as children’s services, reference, technical services, or administration;

-providing professional library leadership in areas such as legislation, intellectual freedom, literacy, or writing;

-encouraging community support for and involvement with the library at the local or state level.

The Green Mountain Award, is given as the opportunity arises to individuals or organizations for distinguished service, support, or unusual contributions to a Vermont library or libraries.

The Trustee of the Year Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a trustee on behalf of their library, either during the previous year or during their years of service. Nominations may be submitted by any library trustee, library board, librarian, member of a friends group, or VLA member. Examples include but are not limited to:

-seeking legislative action for programs that would benefit libraries throughout the state or region;

-leadership to increase the quality of library service;

-creating model programs to overcome a major local library problem;

-promoting public awareness and building support for the library;

-developing adequate physical facilities for a library.

The Birdie Award was created in March 2014 as a memorial to University of Vermont librarian Birdie MacLennan to honor outstanding librarians like her. This award is given biennially to a librarian who has provided outstanding service in the field of technical services. Nominees must be working in a Vermont Library.

Are you retiring or know a Vermont librarian who is? Please let us know! If that librarian is also a VLA member, we want to honor them at the Vermont Library Conference. Email Pamela Cartier pcartier[at] to request this recognition, or with any questions. Include the retiree’s name, library, and years of service (if known).

Mary Danko and Pamela Cartier
VLA Scholarships & Awards Committee Co-Chairs