VLA Graduate Student Scholarship

The Vermont Library Association Board promotes professional librarianship in Vermont and encourages involvement in professional development within the state. In support of this, VLA has created a scholarship for those enrolled in a graduate-level library degree program.

VLA will award up to $1,500 to the selected, qualified applicant pursuing an MLS or MLIS degree.  The check will go directly to the recipient’s educational program.

To be eligible, applicants must meet the following criteria:
  • Must be enrolled in an MLS/MLIS program;
  • Must be an active VLA member;
  • Must live in Vermont and/or work in a Vermont library, and;
  • Must not have received a scholarship from VLA in the past two years.

The scholarship will be administered by the Vermont Library Association Scholarship Committee. The committee reserves the right not to award a scholarship if qualified applicants are not found. Priority will be based on monetary need and potential for involvement, leadership, and commitment to Vermont Libraries.

Click here for the scholarship application. It can be returned to Mary Danko at mdanko@burlingtonvt.gov

The deadline for applications is November 15 each year, with the scholarship sent to the institution for the spring semester. Winners will be notified by December 15, and a check will be mailed after January 1.

Last update October 14, 2022.

VLA Award Nomination Deadline Coming Up

This is a reminder that you still have time to nominate star librarians, trustees, and advocates for the Vermont Library Association’s awards. Nominations close March 1st.
The Sarah C. Hagar Award is awarded each year for outstanding service in or significant contribution to the field of librarianship in Vermont. Nominees for the Sarah C. Hagar award must be working in a Vermont library (public, academic, school, or special) and be a member of VLA.
The Trustee of the Year Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a trustee on behalf of his or her library, either during the previous year or during his or her years of service. Nominations may be submitted by any library trustee, library board, librarian, member of a Friends group, or VLA member.
The Library Advocate of the Year Award is given occasionally by the VLA Government Relations Committee to an outstanding public advocate for libraries in local, state, or national government.
The Green Mountain Award is given as the opportunity arises to individuals or organizations for distinguished service, support, or unusual contributions to a Vermont library or libraries.
Please visit http://www.vermontlibraries.org/awards for nomination procedures, and to find the truly inspirational list of awards recipients.

DCF & Red Clover Winners Have Been Chosen

Drum roll , please…
The 2012 Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award has been won by Raina Telgemeier for Smile! It is too soon to know about the ceremony, but I will certainly keep you informed.
Born Yesterday written by James Solheim and illustrated by Simon James has won the 2012 Red Clover Award.

VLA is Seeking 2012 Retirees

The Vermont Library Association Awards Committee is seeking names of Vermont librarians  who have retired or will retire in 2012. VLA honors all retirees who:

  • Are VLA members, and;
  • Have worked 10 years or more in Vermont libraries.

Please send names and contact info to me. Thanks so much.

Grace Worcester Greene
Chair, VLA Awards Committee
Vermont Department of Libraries
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609
Tel.: 802-828-6954
Fax: 802-828-1481
Email: grace.greene@state.vt.us