e-Vermont Broadband applications now available

The Vermont Council on Rural Development has posted application materials for Year Two of the e-Vermont Community Broadband Project.

This project is funded via a federal Broadband Technology Opportunities Program (BTOP) grant and continues the project begun in 2010 when 12 Vermont communities were chosen for funding.

The Department of Libraries is a grant partner and is responsible for administering grant funds to public libraries in selected e-Vermont communities.

Deadline for electronic applications is November 17, 5:00 p.m.

For information about the e-Vermont Program:


For information about applications for Year Two:


For information on how public libraries can become involved, contact your DOL regional consultant.

YALSA MAE Award press release

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), seeks members’ application for the MAE Award for Best Literature Program for Teens, sponsored by the Margaret A. Edwards Trust.  The winner receives $500 and an additional $500 for their library.  The award is open to all personal members of ALA/YALSA who have created an outstanding reading or literature program in the twelve months preceding the award deadline of December 1.

Read more

STS Innovation in Science and Technology Librarianship Award

The purpose of the award is to recognize creative, innovative approaches to solving problems or improving products and services in science and technology librarianship. The award recognizes and promotes leadership and initiative that demonstrate impact on the academic and research community.

Any library-related project is eligible for the award. Projects from the award sponsors are ineligible for consideration. Projects of the STS Chair / Vice-Chair while those persons are in office are ineligible from consideration.


A $3,000 donation by IEEE. The award is administered by the ACRL Science & Technology Section and is presented at the ALA Annual Conference each year.

Read more

I Love My Librarian Nominations Open Through September 20

Just a reminder that nominations for the national Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award run through September 20.  Nominations are accepted at www.ilovelibraries.org/ilovemylibrarian.

The award invites library users nationwide to nominate librarians in public, school and college, community college and university libraries and tell how librarians make a difference in their campus community.

Thanks to the generous support of Carnegie Corporation of New York, 10 librarians will win $5,000 and be honored at an awards ceremony in New York in December, hosted by The New York Times.

Free tools to help let library users learn about the award are on the award website by clicking on the “Promotional Tools for Librarians” link.

In 2008 and 2009, ten librarians were honored with the award.  You can learn about them, as well as other winners, at www.ilovelibraries.org/ilovemylibrarian.  Click on the links that say “2009 winners” or “2008 winners.”

Winners of the 2010 award will be announced to the public in December.  If you have any questions, please e-mail Megan Humphrey at the American Library Association: mhumphrey@ala.org.

Who's Retiring this Year?

Hello, all: this is another call for names of people who are retiring this year. Anyone who is a member of VLA, has worked for 10 years or more in Vermont libraries and is retiring is eligible for a VLA retirement award. If you know of anyone who meets these criteria, please let me know.
Grace Greene
VLA Awards Committee Chair
Email: grace.greene@state.vt.us

Emerson Greenaway Award Nominations

To recognize his outstanding achievements, the New England Library Association (NELA) in 1988 honored Emerson Greenaway, an innovator in library organization and practice in the mid-twentieth century, with the “Great Librarian Award.” Two years later this regional honor was renamed the Emerson Greenaway Award and the award is offered annually by NELA to recognize exceptional librarians.

Do you know a Great Librarian who deserves recognition? If so, please tell us about this person! Nominations are now being accepted for the 2010 Emerson Greenaway Award to recognize individuals who have had a “demonstrated impact on the library field in the New England region.”

Read more

LYRASIS Opens Nominations for Two Awards

Atlanta, GA, April 1, 2010 – LYRASIS, the nation’s largest regional membership organization serving libraries and information professionals, announces that nominations are now open for two awards.

The LYRASIS 2010 Excellence Award will honor one individual who has made a significant and exceptional contribution in areas central to LYRASIS’ vision of strengthening libraries through collaboration, creative solutions, and leadership for libraries. The 2010 Award includes a $2500 award and a one-year free membership to LYRASIS for the recipient’s institution.

The LYRASIS 2010 NextGen Librarian Award will honor three librarians new to the library profession who demonstrate an innovative and fresh approach to the profession and are leaders in our rapidly changing world. They will receive an honorarium to cover registration and hotel accommodations to a library conference of their choice.

Read more

VLA is Seeking 2010 Retirees

The VLA Awards Committee is once again looking for people who have retired or are planning to retire in 2010, or who retired any time since the last VLA conference. To be eligible for a retirement award a Librarian must:

  • Have worked in a Vermont library for a minimum of 10 years
  • Be member of VLA
  • Retire or plan to retire some time between Jun 1, 2009 and the end of 2010.

Please let me know of anyone you know so we can honor them at the May VLA Conference.

Thanks so much for your help.

Grace Greene
Chair, VLA Awards Committee